276°
Posted 20 hours ago

Better Than the Movies

£9.9£99Clearance
ZTS2023's avatar
Shared by
ZTS2023
Joined in 2023
82
63

About this deal

Wrong Number, The Do-Over, Betting on You, and Nothing Like the Movies, as well as being a regular contributor to the Omaha World-Herald. Liz thinks her long-awaited meet cute is finally due when Michael, her childhood crush, moves back to town. Two cheerleaders surrounded by a puff of white cloud were vaping behind us, and I gave them a closed-mouth smile.

Liz gave me some Lara Jean ( To All the Boys I've Loved Before) and Pippa ( Leading Lines) vibes - which I was so here for. And as they continue to grow closer, she must reexamine everything she thought she knew about love-and rethink her own ideas of what Happily Ever After should look like. Everyone began taking notes on their school-issued laptops, and Colton Sparks gave me a chin nod from his desk in the corner. Enter Wes Bennett, the boy next door, the one Liz has fought with her whole life, that everyone but her seems to love. She lives in Nebraska with her husband and pack of wild children, and when she isn't reading or writing, odds are good she's guzzling energy drinks and watching rom-coms.I think I was a bit hesitant going into this one because recently there weren’t many YA books that blew my mind, and I thought I outgrew them, but in here there was some kind of magic, and I think it’s due to the fact that this book, at least in my opinion, reads more as a romance book than a contemporary YA one.

However, when the time comes, Liz realizes she has real feelings for Wes and is no longer interested in Michael. It also turned a trashy beach read into a masterful showcase of filmmaking which still drank from 1970s naturalism, even as it heightened it for maximum popcorn effect.Perfect for fans of Kasie West and Jenn Bennett, this “sweet and funny” (Kerry Winfrey, author of Waiting for Tom Hanks) teen rom-com follows a hopelessly romantic teen girl and her cute yet obnoxious neighbor as they scheme to get her noticed by her untouchable crush.

I love the genre (quelle surprise) so understood why Liz was so obsessed but I also understood Wes and Liz's stepmom's feelings on the genre. Joss threw me a side-glance between cleaning up each eye with a cotton swab as we walked into the bathroom. The novel tells the story of Liz Buxbaum, a senior in high school with a passion for romance movies inherited from her late mother. That being said, you can’t help but root for Liz and hope she finds her way and makes sense of her feelings.She might pretend to be nice, but for as long as I could remember, she’d given me crusty-weird looks. But as Liz and Wes scheme to get Liz her magical prom moment, she’s shocked to discover that she actually likes being around Wes. Even though he’d gotten tall and mannish and a tiny bit hot since grade school, Wes was still the same immature boy who’d “accidentally” burned down my mom’s rosebush with a firecracker. Liz’s relationships with Joss and Helena also suffer as Joss discovers Liz’s lies and Liz shuns Helena from her life for fear of replacing her mother. Also, the plot in general really followed some 80s coming of age movies, and that made me so nostalgic, and even though I wasn’t even born in the 80s, I felt that magic.

Asda Great Deal

Free UK shipping. 15 day free returns.
Community Updates
*So you can easily identify outgoing links on our site, we've marked them with an "*" symbol. Links on our site are monetised, but this never affects which deals get posted. Find more info in our FAQs and About Us page.
New Comment